Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The North Face.

SURGE BACKPACK

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SURGE BACKPACK
Review 1 for SURGE BACKPACK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written bySkyGuardYou
DateSeptember 12, 2013
I would recommend this to a friend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Years And Going Strong
DateSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: Waterproof, reflective, Windproof
Cons: Skiing, Climbing, Training, Snowboarding, Mountain Biking, Hiking
I have had this backpack for 5 years, and have used it every single day of that time, carrying a usual load of 10-15 pounds. It still looks new.
The amount of thought that went into the design really shows when it matters. At 33L, it has often been my only bag on week-long pop-up camping trips. It has been to Alaska with me twice. Even completely packed out, this thing still manages to be comfortable on my back.
It is far-and-away the best backpack I have ever owned. As a work bag, even as a light backpacking bag, it is really tough to beat. I'd give it 6 stars if that were possible.
I would recommend this to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SURGE BACKPACK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by2bMe
DateMay 3, 2013
LocationTel Aviv, Israel
I would recommend this to a friend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The perfect backpack!
DateMay 3, 2013
I bought it to replace my Swiss Gear bag, that was too heavy and too loose when I used it. and SURGE is just perfect!
you won't fell the weight of the bag when its on your back, even if its really heavy.
it has a lot of room in it and lots of pockets to put your stuff in it (for me its really important)
and of course a place to my laptop and its cables
I would recommend this to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SURGE BACKPACK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written byILove2Write13
DateMarch 17, 2013
LocationNew England
I would recommend this to a friend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY Good, Very Pleased
DateMarch 17, 2013
Pros: Packable, bright, easy, lots of room
Cons: Climbing, Hiking
I ordered this when my old backpack, an LLBean, ripped in the shoulder straps. Since many of the girls at my school have a North Face, I decided to give it a try.
I love the bag, and I like the color very much (the day-glo green), the pocket for the laptop fits my thirteen inch MacbookPro perfectly, with some room left over for the charger. The pockets have convenient features to keep my things organized, and the front zipper/latch part is perfect for stowing things I use often.
The only complaint that I have is the little awkward stowing of the waist belts when I'm not using them, but it's not a major issue. All in all, a very good purchase, well worth your money!
I would recommend this to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SURGE BACKPACK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written byMaklain
DateOctober 22, 2012
LocationBozeman, Mt -Pocatello ID
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing
DateOctober 22, 2012
I have had this backpack for 2 months now and i love it. I had to walk home in the heavy rain for about an hour and the interior stayed dry the computer pouch was a little wet around the zipper but the rest was all dry. also love the front zipper pocket it holds my sunglasses perfectly.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SURGE BACKPACK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written bymsrynear
DateOctober 20, 2012
LocationCastle Rock CO
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great 'work' backpack
DateOctober 20, 2012
Use it for my laptop and iPad. Just as advertised. North Face always makes quality products and this is no exception. Like how the laptop is suspended above the bottom of the backpack. Had my laptop it in for no more that a few days and it fell out of the back of my SUV. Landed on the bottom of the backpack, my Mac was just fine as it never struck the ground thanks to the internal suspension. Only minor 'complaint' if you can call it that is to get in to the extreme outside pocket you have to undo a buckle and unzip two zippers.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SURGE BACKPACK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written byROJOtheSurfBro
DateSeptember 6, 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TNF Surge Backpack
DateSeptember 6, 2012
The North Face Surge backpack is probably one of the best backpacks I've ever owned. I had a Swiss Gear backpack for about 3 years and it finally broke down and going off to college I needed something with a lot of room and something that would protect my laptop. The Surge meets all of these requirements. I can carry my Anatomy book (which is like carrying the friggin Gutenberg Bible) my History book plus the novel for that class, my laptop, ENO hammock & hammock straps, and a Camelbak bottle with plenty of room to spare.!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SURGE BACKPACK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written bynjgusick
DateAugust 7, 2012
Locationchicago
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forth-graders first Northface is a hit
DateAugust 7, 2012
I bought this for my son for his th grade school year. He was jealous of mine (different model) now I am jealous of his! There are lots of pockets, etc to keep all school supplies organized and tidy. The bag has been packed for 2 weeks before school started
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.